Buttermilk Dinner Roll FAIL

Michael Ruhlman is one of my favorite food writers, I read his blog regularly.  I’ve learned a lot from reading his blog and he’s posted some great recipes (his wife also posts about her fantastic photographs).  He recently posted about a buttermilk dinner roll recipe he came across.  I am always a fan of good bread, so I decided to give this recipe a shot.

You can find the recipe on his site, but the you need flour, buttermilk, honey, yeast, and salt for the dough.  Once the rolls are ready to bake, they are topped with egg and poppy seeds (or sesame seeds).

As you might be able to tell from that picture, I didn’t get very much rise from the dough.  Not sure what I did wrong; maybe it was because I mixed it by hand instead of using a stand mixer (anybody want to buy me one for next time?) or maybe my yeast was no good.  These turned out to be very dense.  I noticed afterwards that Mr. Ruhlman suggested decreasing the amount of flour, so maybe that would help as well on my next attempt.

Also, if you don’t have one already, you should consider getting a kitchen scale.  It is very helpful and more accurate for baking.  You can read more about the importance of scales on Ruhlman’s site and in his book, Ratio.

Leave a Reply

