Brisket

So I’m not sure I have the patience for bbq.

This weekend I decided to try some brisket. I found some brisket at the store that was about 1.5 lbs.  So I was a pretty small piece as compared to a whole brisket.  I hoped this would keep the cooking time down.  Also, anything too much bigger probably wouldn’t fit on my smoker.

I seasoned the brisket with salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne, and dry mustard.  I let that sit for an hour while I set up the smoker and let it heat.

From reading online I thought it would be about 1.5 hours per pound, so I was planning on about 2 hours and fifteen minutes.  I wanted to the internal temperature to be 185°.  I ended up leaving it on for about 2.5 hours and it could have still used more time.  It ended up only getting to about 170°.  But as I mentioned at the beginning of this post, I got impatient and wanted to eat.  Plus the sun was going down and I didn’t want to be messing with it in the dark.

Brisket 001a

It tasted good and would have been more tender if I had let it go longer.  Either way I think the leftovers will be good sliced thin on a sandwich.

Brisket 002

When I do attempt a pork shoulder I will have to start a lot earlier to give it the proper time to cook.  I will also probably use my probe thermometer so I can monitor the temperature with out opening up the smoker.  Maybe larger chunks of wood will help in that area too.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

