Sofrito Skirt Steak and Baked Buttered Corn

After seeing this post from Michael Ruhlman, I knew I wanted to give the Baked Buttered Corn a try.  I had already been planning to make skirt steak some time this week, so I thought this would be a good side dish to pair with it.  I bought four ears of corn from the store and followed Ruhlman’s directions.  It wasn’t as exciting as I was hoping it would be, but it was still good. I’ve always liked corn.  Maybe I’ll venture to the downtown marketplace this weekend and see if they have any corn that might be better.

The skirt steak turned out pretty well.  After looking through my cupboards, I found a jar of Goya sofrito that I had bought a while back.  I marinated the steak in the sofrito overnight.  When I was ready to eat, I lit some charcoal and then grilled the steak for about 4 minutes on each side.  Next time I may give it one more minute on each side.  They sofrito added a little flavor, but next time I may try to use some more sofrito to make a sauce or just mix some in with the rice when I cook it.

007a

Leave a Reply

