Westside Market

I know it’s been a while since my last post.  Yeah sorry about that.  I’m a slacker.  What can I say? Anyway, I was reading the introduction to Michael Symon‘s Live to Cook and was reminded that I wanted to post about the Westside Market. The Westside Market is located in Ohio City, near Cleveland, Ohio.  A market has been running at that intersection since 1840, with the current building first opening in 1912.  Growing up, I would go with my family to the Westside Market every now and then when school was out.  It sells just about everything you can imagine.  One section is dedicated to produce and offers many different fruits and vegetables.  The larger building has many different vendors selling everything from meat, to pastries, to candy.  When I was young, some of the items, like pig heads and tongues, seemed so foreign to me that I couldn’t imagine anyone ever cooking with them.  Now that I am cooking for myself, reading more cookbooks, and learning more about food, I wish these items were more available here in Tallahassee.  I guess I’ll have to go exploring more to see what I can find.

Anyway, I was home in Ohio for the Christmas break and drove up to the Westside Market one day with my brother.  It brought back a lot of memories to see all of the different things I used to see on our trips there.

The first item I purchased was cheese smokies

.

There are a couple different varieties, but I decided to buy the ones with cheese.  This is one thing that we always got on our trips to the market.

Another thing I bought for the nostalgia factor was lady locks.

These are flaky pastry tubes filled with cream and covered in powdered sugar.  They are so good and much better than the knockoffs you see at walmart.

The last thing I bought was more for curiosity.  As we were walking around the market I noticed some beef bacon.  After completing my other purchases, I decided to go back and get it so I could try something I had never had before.  After a bunch of wandering lost in circles, I was finally able to locate the stand and purchase half a pound.

Here it is cooking. (The one in the middle is just about done and the ones on the outside are just starting.)

And here is the finished product.

This was pretty good.  It had the familiar salty and smoky flavor of bacon but was distinctly beef.  We had them on egg sandwiches and also just snacked on it by itself.  Definitely something I would use again.

So that was my trip down memory lane at the Westside Market.  It was an enjoyable experience and made me wish there was something like it in Tallahassee.

I’m going to try to start updating this thing more often.  We can always hope.  Next up will probably be an overdue post on the farm tours I attended at the end of October and then hopefully some more adventures in the kitchen, on the grill, and in the smoker.  Let me know if there are topics you’d like me to cover.

2 responses to “Westside Market

  1. Yum! You make everything sound delicious, but we can’t see the pictures. Keep up the good blogs.

  2. Should be fixed now. Thanks for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

