Beef Stoup

I thought I was being clever by calling this “stoup” because it wasn’t quite a stew but seemed more than a soup.  Now that I go to write this post and google the word, I find that there are 237,000 results.  And even worse than that, the very first one is from Rachel Ray.  blech. I feel kind of dirty now and may be taking a shower with a scouring pad as soon as this post is finished.

Anyway, on to what I made.  Even though it has warmed up from the extreme cold of the first half of the month, it is still winter, so I decided to make a hearty stew.  I’ve had  bag of barley sitting in my cupboard for a while now and thought this would be a perfect time to use it.

I started with beef for stew from the store and then coated it with some seasoned flour.  I thought this flour would eventually help to thicken the stew, but when I started to brown the beef, there was lots o smoke and the flour started to burn.  So maybe I had too much flour or the pot was too hot.  That’s something to tweak for next time.

After all the beef was browned, I removed it from the pot and added some water to deglaze the bottom of the pot. (I used water since I didn’t have any homemade stock and I’ve joined Michael Ruhlman’s crusade against the canned stuff)  Then I added carrots, celery, onions, and a can of diced tomatoes.  Since I had half a bag of fingerling potatoes left over, I decided to cut those up and add them too.

I brought this to a boil and let it simmer for and hour and fifteen minutes.  Then I added the barley and brought it back to a simmer until the barley was cooked (about 45 minutes).  Like I mentioned before, this thickened up some (the barley probably helped a little) but not quite to what I am used to for stew.   Maybe next time I won’t flour the beef and make a roux instead.  The stew was very tasty though.

Now off to find that scouring pad.

2 responses to “Beef Stoup

  1. Looks yummy! If you have the time and hardware, using a slow cooker for your stoup might help thicken it up too. I usually brown my stew meat in a combo of butter and olive oil so it helps get the roux going.

Leave a Reply

