Queso Fundido

I’ve been intrigued with the cooking of Rick Bayless since seeing him as a judge on Top Chef and then as a contestant on Top Chef Masters.  A couple weekends back I caught his show, Mexico – One Plate at a Time, on PBS.  On that episode he made queso fundido using green chorizo.  It looked delicious, so off I went to the store to get the ingredients I needed.

I started by making the green chorizo.  I chopped up a poblano pepper, serrano peppers, and cilantro in my food processor.

Then I added it to some ground pork.

After refrigerating the chorizo for a while, I started making the queso fundido.  I cooked the chorizo with a sliced onion.

Then I added some water and spinach.  Last I added shredded cheese to melt it.  This is served on a tortilla with salsa, like a taco.

Unfortunately, I bought corn tortillas instead of flour tortillas, and I wasn’t too thrilled with them.  I don’t think I really liked the salsa I bought either.  The queso fundido itself was good though.  Guess I’ll try to fry the rest of the tortillas into chips.

BONUS: Since there was left over chorizo, I had to come up with some way to cook it.  I saw wonton wrappers in my refrigerator, I decided to use them.  I made Asian-style dumplings using the chorizo.  Here is the setup. The water is used to seal the wrappers.

Here is one after test-frying it.

When I cooked the rest, I browned one side and then added some water and covered the pan to steam the dumplings the rest of the way.  These turned out pretty good.  They made a good dinner and were good the next day for lunch.

Leave a Reply

